Long Journey Home

The sun glistened through my window brightening and warming up my room. I could hear the church bells ringing beckoning  to the flock to come join the services. All I could think of was how to get away from this school I felt trapped in.

I felt that my family had abandoned me, leaving me to fend for myself. As everyone scrambled to get dressed for church I quietly hid under the bed until I was sure everyone had gone to church then packed my red high heel shoes (these were my favorite with a deep ruby color with sparkles throughout), some of my belongings and headed out to freedom. I was all of 14 years old and had no idea where I was going.

All I knew is that I had to get away. As I walked down the long country road towards the center of the nearby town I kept checking to make sure no one saw me leave. But I hoped that someone would give me a ride as it was miles before I would get to my friends home. I knew that once I got there they would help me get far, far away from the area; how far I didn’t know.

As we drove through town I spotted my boyfriend from Texas. How tempting it was to call out to him. The thought of attracting attention to me prevented me from doing that, By early evening I reached by friend Sunnies house and fell into her mothers arms with exhaustion. She cleaned me up, fed me and told me everything would be alright. I would be going to her cousins home in Pittsburgh. I was scared but trusted her and knew that no harm would come to me.

The next day I was shipped off. I really enjoyed my ride although it took sometime to get there. Once there I had a job waiting for me and my own room. I really didn’t like the job but I didn’t complain because it was only going to be for a short time. In six months I planned to go back to New York and try to connect with my family.

Big mistake but that is a tale for another time.

Leave a Reply

